Being arrested and charged with a DUI for the first time can be a frightening and embarrassing experience. What will happen to your reputation? Will you have to pay fines or will you lose your driver’s license? Will you go to jail?
The penalties for a first DUI offense in Maryland aren’t as harsh as the penalties for subsequent DUI offenses, however, that doesn’t mean that they are a walk in the park. If you are charged and convicted of a DUI for the first time, you could face:
- A fine of up to $1,000
- Up to 1 year in a county jail
- 12 points against your driving record
- License suspension for 45 days
- Restricted driving privileges in some cases, such as only legally being able to drive to work or medical appointments
- 120 day license suspension if you refuse to submit to a BAC administered by breath or blood
- Ignition interlock device if you had a passenger in the car under the age of 18
- Mandatory approved drug & alcohol counseling program
If you have been arrested and charged with a first time DUI, it is important that you contact a qualified DUI lawyer in the state of Maryland within a 10 day time period. You have certain rights that you can invoke within 10 days, but if you delay, you could be waiving your rights.
Felipe Santo Domingo can advise you on the best course of action to take in your case. Call today to schedule an appointment for a consultation. 1-800-Have-DUI.